I guess I invented these.  I was trying to achieve purple blondes, you know, follow the purple trend.  Soooo, I made a simple blondie recipe, added some blueberries and blended it up. They didn’t turn out as purple as I’d hoped, but they were pretty good. img_2845

I only made a half batch, but that seemed to bake very well and evenly.  I was concerned about burning the blueberries but I succeeded in not charring the bars (for once). Of course I fancied them up before taking a few pictures, but even the edges were perfect. Enjoy!img_2847

Blueberry Scone Bars

Ingredients:

1 cup brown sugar

1 egg

3/4 cup flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 cup melted butter  (sub vegan earth balance butter)

3/4 cup frozen blueberries

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350
  2. Throw everything in a blender leaving out the blueberries
  3. once thoroughly blended, add in the blueberries and blend smooth.
  4. Line a baking sheet or brownie pan with parchment and poor batter , spreading it out, about 1 inch thick
  5. bake for 27-30 minutes and let cool before removing from pan.
  6. cut into bars and enjoy!!
